Special Education


Dear Parents and Guardians: 

The District Office on Special Education/504 Services exists to ensure your understanding of the process of identifying and providing special education/504 services to qualified students.

The education of your child, through access to appropriate programs and services, is our highest priority. You are encouraged to contact our office if you have any questions or concerns regarding the individual needs of your child.  

We are available to assist in any way necessary. 

Chris Mondella
CSE Chairperson, CPSE Chairperson, 504 Coordinator

518-668-5452 Ext. 1228

Special Education in New York State | Committee on Preschool Special Education (CPSE) | Parent Resources

Special Education in New York State

Visit the New York State Education Office of Special Education page for more information about laws, regulations and policies affecting special education programs and services in New York State.

Committee on Preschool Special Education (CPSE)

Preschool Special Education serves children with disabilities 3 to 5 years old. The majority of children are served in regular preschool classrooms with typically developing peers. Additional service options may include self-contained classes or home-based services. Services are based on the goals included in each child’s Individual Education Program.

Preschool Special Education services are defined by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Children qualify for services based on federal and state rules and regulations. Eligibility is determined through assessment. Areas of development evaluated include:

  • Cognition
  • Speech/language
  • Social/behavior
  • Gross/fine motor
  • Self help skills
  • Vision/hearing

Evaluations are completed by qualified Special Education professionals. An Individual Education Program (IEP) is developed by a team of professionals, including the parents, for children who qualify for services. Children receive services in a variety of settings based on their IEP. The Lake George Central School District believes that children with disabilities are best served in a classroom with typically developing peers. The regular preschool classroom provides opportunities for children with disabilities to access regular curriculum with adaptations and specialized instruction to meet individual needs. 

Preschool Special Education services are provided at no cost. If you believe your child may have a disability and be eligible for special education services, please contact the CPSE office: 518-668-5452 Ext 1228.

Chris Mondella, CPSE Chairperson
mondellac@lkgeorge.org

Leighann Johnson, CSE Secretary
johnsonl@lkgeorge.org

Resources for Parents of Preschoolers

A Parent’s Guide to Special Education
This document provides information for parents, guardians and other family members about laws, regulations and policies affecting special education programs and services. 

Information for Parents of Preschool Students with Disabilities Ages 3-5
This document provides a brief summary of the special education process for preschool students.

What is an Early Childhood Direction Center (ECDC)?

Is there an ECDC in my area?

New York State Education Department Procedural Safeguards Notice
The following information concerns your legal rights under federal and NYS law to be informed about and involved in the special education process and to make sure that your child receives a free appropriate public education (FAPE).

Parent Resources

Parent Networks

Parent to Parent of New York State – A place where families of individuals with special needs and the professionals who support them can meet and share information. 

Parent Guides

Understanding Special Education – A Parent Guide – A parent friendly site offering information on Special Education law, written from a parent perspective. 

Contact Us

Chris Mondella
CSE Chairperson, CPSE Chairperson, 504 Coordinator
518-668-5452 Ext. 1228
mondellac@lkgeorge.org

Leighann Johnson, CSE Secretary
518-668-5452 Ext. 1228
johnsonl@lkgeorge.org

Elementary School Special Education Staff

Cassie Hensler
henslerc@lkgeorge.org

Kerri Spring
springk@lkgeorge.org

Lynn Jaeger
jaegerl@lkgeorge.org

Alayna Lavigne
lavignea@lkgeorge.org

Morgan Byrnes
byrnesm@lkgeorge.org

Jessica Podres
podresj@lkgeorge.org

Emily Warmt
warmte@lkgeorge.org

Jr.-Sr. High School Special Education

Katie Chapman
chapmank@lkgeorge.org

Christina Howe
howec@lkgeorge.org

Abigail Lynch
lyncha@lkgeorge.org

Susan Nolan
nolans@lkgeorge.org

Nicholas Round
roundn@lkgeorge.org